Density conversions

density conversions
Density Conversions logo
Select a unit of density

What is density?

Density is a physical property of matter defined as mass per unit of volume under specified conditions of temperature and pressure (density = mass / volume). The standard derived unit of density in the International System of Units (SI) is the kilogram per cubic meter (kg/m3). Common units of density include grams per cubic centimeter (g/cm3), milligrams per milliliter (mg/mL), grams per milliliter (g/mL), grams per liter (g/L), ounces per gallon (oz/gal), pounds per gallon (lb/gal), pounds per cubic inch (lb/cu in) and pounds per cubic foot (lb/cu ft).

Common density conversions

  • 1 kilogram per liter (kg/L) = 1 kilogram per cubic decimeter (kg/dm3)
  • 1 gram per milliliter (g/mL) = 1 gram per cubic centimeter (g/cm3)
  • 1 gram per liter (g/L) = 1 gram per cubic decimeter (g/dm3)
  • 1 milligram per milliliter (mg/mL) = 1 milligram per cubic centimeter (mg/cm3)
  • 1 milligram per liter (mg/L) = 1 milligram per cubic decimeter (mg/dm3)
  • 1 microgram per milliliter (μg/mL) = 1 microgram per cubic centimeter (μg/cm3)
  • 1 microgram per liter (μg/L) = 1 microgram per cubic decimeter (μg/dm3)

Density conversions: direct links

Below you can find a comprehensive list with conversions from and to various (metric, imperial, or customary) density measurement units.