Pascal conversions

Convert pascals to

pascal (unit of pressure), pl. pascals, abbr. Pa

The pascal conversion selector on this page selects the pressure/stress measurement unit to convert to starting from pascals (Pa). To make a conversion starting from a unit of pressure other than pascal, simply click on the "Reset" button.

About pascal

The pascal is the SI derived unit of pressure. One pascal is equal to 1,000 millipascals (mPa), or 0.01 hectopascals (hPa), or 0.001 kilopascals (kPa), or 10-6 megapascals (MPa) or 10-9 gigapascals (GPa), which are units of pressure in the SI.

The pascal (Pa) is also equal to 9.86923267 × 10-6 atmospheres (atm), or 10-5 bars (bar), or 0.007500616 millimeters of mercury at 0 °C (mmHg), or 0.00401463 inches of water at 4 °C (inH2O), or 0.000145037 pounds per square inch (psi), or 0.020885434 pounds per square foot (psf) or 0.00750061683 torr (Torr).

The pascal is equal to one newton per square meter (1 Pa = 1 N/m2). The newton (N) is a unit of force in the SI while the square meter (m2) is a unit of area in the SI.

The pascal unit is named after the famous French physicist, mathematician and philosopher Blaise Pascal who lived between 1623 and 1662.

Symbol: Pa

Plural: pascals

Subdivisions and multiples of the pascal using SI prefixes

Subdivisions of the pascal
Name Symbol Value
decipascal dPa 10-1 Pa
centipascal cPa 10-2 Pa
millipascal mPa 10-3 Pa
micropascal μPa 10-6 Pa
nanopascal nPa 10-9 Pa
picopascal pPa 10-12 Pa
femtopascal fPa 10-15 Pa
attopascal aPa 10-18 Pa
zeptopascal zPa 10-21 Pa
yoctopascal yPa 10-24 Pa
Multiples of the pascal
Name Symbol Value
decapascal daPa 101 Pa
hectopascal hPa 102 Pa
kilopascal kPa 103 Pa
megapascal MPa 106 Pa
gigapascal GPa 109 Pa
terapascal TPa 1012 Pa
petapascal PPa 1015 Pa
exapascal EPa 1018 Pa
zettapascal ZPa 1021 Pa
yottapascal YPa 1024 Pa

Pascal conversions: a compehensive list with conversions from pascals to other (metric, imperial, or customary) pressure and stress measurement units is presented below.

Back to pascal (Pa)