Fahrenheit conversions

temperature conversions » Fahrenheit conversions
Convert Fahrenheit to

The Fahrenheit conversion selector on this page selects the temperature measurement unit to convert to starting from Fahrenheit (°F). To make a conversion starting from a unit of temperature other than Fahrenheit, simply click on the "Reset" button.

What is Fahrenheit?

The degree Fahrenheit is a non-metric unit of measurement for temperature. The Fahrenheit scale is a temperature scale named after the famous physicist Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit (1686-1736). On the Fahrenheit scale, the freezing temperature of water corresponds to 32 degrees Fahrenheit while the boiling temperature of water corresponds to 212 degrees Fahrenheit at normal pressure (1 atmosphere).

Degrees Fahrenheit are widely used in the United States and Canada for measuring temperatures in non-scientific context, such as weather reports and cooking.

Common Fahrenheit conversions:

  • 32 degrees Fahrenheit (°F) = 0 degrees Celsius (°C) or centigrade = 273.15 kelvins (K)
  • 68 degrees Fahrenheit (°F) = 20 degrees Celsius (°C) or centigrade = 293.15 kelvins (K)
  • 98.6 degrees Fahrenheit (°F) = 37 degrees Celsius (°C) or centigrade = 310.15 kelvins (K)
  • 212 degrees Fahrenheit (°F) = 100 degrees Celsius (°C) or centigrade = 373.15 kelvins (K)

See also: Fahrenheit to Celsius, Celsius to Fahrenheit





Fahrenheit conversions: links

A list with conversions from Fahrenheit to other (metric, imperial, or customary) temperature measurement units is shown below.